Gone But Best Forgotten #0: Introduction

This series is probably the reason why I wanted to start this blog in the first place, but I feel like it deserves an introduction, at the very least an explanation. See, I have a tendency to dabble in nostalgia. I’m a detestable ’90s kid through and through, even if I was born in ’88. The problem with that is that so many things I should be nostalgic for either never really went away (The Simpsons, Power Rangers) or are easy enough to access, they might as well have not gone away (DVD boxsets of most of my favorite shows).

The thing is, that sort of makes nostalgia itself feel somehow hollow to me. It’s not that I don’t like this stuff: in fact, it’s entirely the opposite – I love the old shit I grew up on. The thing is that nostalgia, at least as far as I understand it, depends on loss as a key element. It’s a longing for something that you can’t really regain. Quite simply, it’s kind of difficult to that kind of emotion when most companies are essentially digging up anything they can for a quick buck.

What’s really weird about this whole thing is that I did end up figuring out how to scratch my nostalgic itch after all. A few years back, a bunch of my online friends and I were watching old commercials on SynchTube, which just seems odd on the surface. Then one of them opined that the reason these seemed so oddly nostalgic is because they were simply cast aside after the fact. In other words, LionsGate may decide it’s worth doing a strange reboot of Power Rangers, but it’s unlikely that anyone’s ever going to remake those old Bubble Tape commercials they used to play on Nickelodeon back in the day.

That’s pretty much the whole point of this series: I intend to explore things from the past that simply won’t (or at best, shouldn’t) make a comeback. Things like those commercials I mentioned, but much more tangible than that. I mean, there’s already enough YouTube channels reposting old commercials scrounged from ancient VHS tapes and more than enough personalities that just riff on them. I’ve already got a couple things in mind, but that’s the good thing about having a personal blog: less of a schedule attached to it.

Expect an actual article on a real topic later this month. See you next rant.

One thought on “Gone But Best Forgotten #0: Introduction”

Leave a Reply

